When Driving Mrs. Daisy Gets a Little Crazy

As a huge believer in Karma, I attempt to be the best person I can. I believe it’s important to be kind to others and understand that everyone has something difficult going on at any given time. With that being said, I too sometimes have epic fails as a human being.

I am not an angry driver. I’m not. In fact, I’m not much of a driver at all. I have never enjoyed driving. I think I was the only one of my friends who procrastinated getting their license for a full year. What’s the rush? My mom drove me everywhere and I loved it. Not much has changed. If you ask my husband he will call me a young, “Driving Mrs. Daisy”.

This is me doing my best Driving Mrs. Daisy. My husband thought, minus the hat...It wasn't too far off.
This is me doing my best Driving Mrs. Daisy. My husband thought, minus the hat…It wasn’t too far off.

Now I’m not completely crazy. I do drive myself to work and to the gym and all other daily activities. It’s just that if I have a choice…I don’t drive. When I do drive, I keep my cool. I don’t get worked up very easily and I am rarely in a hurry.

Now I’d like to reiterate, I’m human. A few years ago I was on my way to work and running late. Something I rarely do, at least to work. I found myself flustered and frustrated; the lane I was driving in was coming to an end. I needed to get over. Construction. Why are they always working on the same roads? Why does it never end?

Anyhow, with both lanes merging, cars were taking turns getting over. It was my turn to merge. The car next to me kept speeding up and slowing down, not letting me over. Aggravated and running late I drove past her, flipped her off and got over into her lane.

This is my angry driving face :)
This is my angry driving face 🙂

In my defense, I’m a hairstylist. My day runs in fifteen minute increments and if I’m late for my first appointment I will be late for all of them. I know I know, I should have left earlier.

I finally got to work with just minutes to spare. As I am walking in, so is my first client. She looks at me, then back at the car I just exited and smiles, “Ummm…I think you flipped me off on the way here.”

Dumbfounded at this turn of events and embarrassed, I spoke after a long awkward pause, “Yes, yes I believe I did.” I giggled nervously, wondering if I was going to have an open two hours to start the day.

After what seemed like an eternity she finally laughed, a hearty laugh. I smiled in relief. Thank goodness she had a sense of humor. She even apologized for not letting me over. I told myself to remember this embarrassment and not to flip anyone off again.

WHEN KARMA STRIKES BACK

                It’s been a few years since this last incident and I have managed to keep my cool. Well, last week a similar situation occurred. The lanes were merging and a woman wouldn’t let me over. She was in a Prius. People in Prius’ are supposed to be nice. I tried a few times to merge in front of her as it was my turn. She sped up like my client had. I was discouraged. Why are people always in such a hurry that they lose their sense of kindness? Normally, I can talk myself down and rationalize that the person is probably having a bad day. Perhaps she found out her husband was cheating, or that her child had thrown up on her that morning. I try to be understanding. But on this morning, much like the one a few years ago, I was grumpy.

Image courtesy of JaviarCostas via Flickr
Image courtesy of JaviarCostas via Flickr

I sped up, flipped her off and was about to take my rightful place in front of her. As I’m passing, I realized a scarf around her head and a pink ribbon in the window. I was flipping off a cancer patient. Seriously, what is wrong with me? Karma does not allow me to be a bad person. There is always some sort of instant ramification.

I suppose this is just another lesson learned and most likely the last time I will ever flip anyone off in the car again…I hope.

*Big thanks to my loving and supportive husband who tolerated -7 degree weather, on his lunch break, to take these pics 🙂

39 thoughts on “When Driving Mrs. Daisy Gets a Little Crazy

  1. I would never dare. I was sitting at a red light behind a car whose driver honked at the first guy who hadn’t noticed the light turn green. The first guy got out of his truck stomped back to the guy who’d honked at him and started pounding his windhsield and yelling. You never know what kind of psycho you’re dealing with. Too funny about the hair appointment.

    1. Yea, I never honk at people for that either. My aunt always tells me that she almost did once, because the light was turning yellow and the driver wasn’t paying attention. She didn’t have the heart to do it. Thank goodness she chose not to because another car ran a light and would have t-boned this poor guy. Not worth it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  2. This post made me smile. The Universe does an excellent job of hitting the point home . . . as long as we do our part by remaining awake and aware in the present moment. 😀

  3. I got cut up by a truck driver the other day who caused me to slam on my brakes in wet weather. I honked my horn long and loud to voice my displeasure at his actions and when he finally moved back to the other lane he flipped me the bird! I gave him one back, I mean, who was in the wrong here? Certainly not me!

    It is an unwritten rule that women are always right and men are always wrong, especially when it comes to driving….

    Heather xxx

  4. I hate driving these days. Soooo many cars and people are much ruder, is ruder a real word? People are so distracted and they are as annoyed as I am that there are just so many people here and everyone on the same roads at the same time. I need to move to a place I can take the bus and not have to disinfect myself when I get home. I am always polite only because I am afraid if I flip someone off they will have a gun. That is the world today, sadly. A lot of rude, angry people in a hurry.

    1. You… take a bus? I think you may be more worried about disinfecting yourself then. HAHA. My dad used to always yell at people, I always worried someone would pull a gun on him. Maybe they did, because one day he just stopped doing it. Drive safe out there!

  5. I had a lady give me a full on raging horn honk, as I was spacing out at a green light. I thought I was at a new intersection where a green arrow had to be present to turn left. No, I was at the intersection where I had to yield to oncoming traffic when the light was green. That lady just so happened to be going to the same place I was. I hunted her down, and used my best passive-aggressive voice, and asked her to forgive me. I didn’t mean to space off. We laughed and off she went. A few moments later, she stopped, and told me she shouldn’t be so impatient. We laughed again. However, she wouldn’t make eye contact every time I crossed her path in the store. I’m evil sometimes—mwahahaha

    1. Sometimes passive aggressive is the best way to go! I’m sure she felt bad and thought about it later. It’s funny you continued to run into her at the store. I’m sure she was mortified- rightfully so. Thanks for sharing your story and stopping by!

  6. Oh man, right there with ya. Aside from long roadtrips I’m really not a big fan of driving either AND I waited until I was 18 to bother getting my drivers license. Yep, total Mrs. Daisy over here. I don’t usually have road rage either– I assume similar things, like everyone who is behaving grumpily just had to take their dog to the vet to be put down or something– but man… when I get angry, Karma is always waiting to pounce.

  7. Ha! Now here’s a shock – I only got my driver’s licence last year – and it’s a long time since I was 18!! Never too late I say.

    Where I live it’s easier to walk or catch public transport. I love my little car now, even though I am often pursued by large Audis which honk at me if I’m not going fast enough! I have thrown up my hands a few times (like a pizza chef!). Driving in Sydney is a bit like a roller derby/roller coaster. And why are there always roadworks? On the same road? Ahh, I’m a real driver now 🙂

    1. You are a real driver now! Congratulations, So what your saying is I need to move to Sydney, where I can walk and won’t need to drive 🙂 Pizza chef hands is probably better than a middle finger. Stick with that. I find myself a bit jealous that you didn’t have a license all this time…Oh to dream.

      1. You can definitely get around on foot in Sydney! I was thinking of writing a post on driving – and taking pictures of all the slopes, hills, hairpin bends and blind crests where I had to practice!

  8. Hello, Miss Daisy
    Marcy let me read your post and I must say that you have hit on one of my pet peeves: people’s driving habits! #1 on my list is people not using their turn signals or using them poorly. It’s amazing how many new cars don’t have turn signals (at least no one uses them if they do). I let people in gladly if they use them, not so much if they don’t. I like the ones who put them on AFTER they’ve changed lanes (yes, I can see that you actually moved over, you don’t have to rub it in). I HATE people who pull out in front of me and make me put on my brakes, even though there’s no one behind me for miles and then, to make matters worse, they go like a turtle not even showing that they were wrong and try to speed up! How about people who try to get on a freeway that’s 55 + mph doing 40 or less! The merge lane is to get your car up to the speed of others so you can merge in with the others, not cause a 10 car chain reaction wreck trying to avoid your sorry ass. Finally, the idiot drivers that miss their exit and instead of going to the next one and coming back, they either do a swerve across one or more lanes at the last second like they’re playing a live version of Frogger or, even worse (and this happened to me), stopping in the middle of the freeway to wait for a break in the traffic to go over–I was driving down 95 in Miami, facing a stopped truck in the middle lane (I didn’t see it until the last seconds because the car in front of me swerved to miss it). I couldn’t move to the left or right because cars were beside me and I could only hard brake, but too late to avoid totaling my car hitting the stopped truck, at which point, the woman in front of the truck, seeing that for some lucky reason the traffic had stopped, merrily went on her way across the lanes and onto the off ramp! So Lindsay, you are to be commended for not loosing your cool. I wish that I could, but for the idiots that ruin any chance of getting somewhere without doing something that really pisses me off! Thanks for the laughs and keep using your signal.

    Love, Jim

    1. Jim, I see that your driving stories run deep! I’m glad I found something that perked your interest. I agree, all of those instances are definitely annoying and sometimes scary. People need to learn to be more considerate. Or get off the road. Drive safe out there! Be careful of that finger, before Karma teaches you a lesson 🙂

  9. I think I’ve only given the finger once or twice, but I’ve yelled at people before–only because they were in the wrong, of course. I am an excellent driver.

    And the hat makes the outfit. Don’t let Art tell you any different.

Leave a Reply

