French Fries are My Friend

Pommes frites, Papas fritas, Freedom fries, Chips, the different names for “French fries” are endless, and so are their garnishes. It seems that almost every country has their own variation on these delicious fried potatoes. There is even a long standing feud between the French and Belgians about who is the rightful heir to the first fry. Something that important and rich in heritage must deserve its own blog post!

Costa Rica– Salchipapas, a fry and hot dog mix drizzled with ketchup and mayonnaise. I must say it is much tastier than it sounds! Especially at two a.m. from a food truck, after a night of twenty five cent beers.

Image courtesy of D. Clow via Flikr

Spain– The ever popular (not my favorite Spanish tapa) Patatas Bravas, which are thick country style potatoes covered in a some sort of semi-spicy aioli and a garlic mayonnaise.

Image courtesy of Corinna Schmid via Flickr
Image courtesy of Corinna Schmid via Flickr

Australia– Proudly accompanies their tasty strings in a Thai sweet chili sauce. The salt from the fries mixed with the sweet from the chili sauce is truly magnificent.

Image courtesy of I Believe I Can Fry via Flikr
Image courtesy of I Believe I Can Fry via Flikr

Canada– Boasts their Poutine, dribbled in a light brown gravy and topped with cheese curds. I have not yet had the pleasure of enjoying this delicacy; but, I hear great things and think I will take a trip to Canada just to try them!

Image courtesy of Matthew Burpee via Flickr
Image courtesy of Matthew Burpee via Flickr

America– Depending on where in the U.S. you live, fries are prepared in a multitude of ways:

-The southerners eat their French fries with mustard. Simple but actually quite yummy.

Image courtesy of Purblind via Flickr
Image courtesy of Purblind via Flickr

-Jersey and New York are known for their Disco Fries. Covered in brown gravy and heaps of mozzarella. Who doesn’t love just about anything covered in mozzarella?

Image courtesy of wEnDaLicious via Flickr
Image courtesy of wEnDaLicious via Flickr

-Let us not forget about the ever delectable chili cheese fries. Topped with chili con carne and usually a shoddy (but tasty) nacho cheese.

Image courtesy of Brood_wich via Flickr
Image courtesy of Brood_wich via Flickr

Greece– They love their fries, serving them with just about every meal. I have seen them done different ways there, with oregano and a little lemon, perhaps a crumble of feta. No matter what the topping they are ALWAYS cooked in the oil of the Gods, olive oil.

Image courtesy of Jugglerpm via Flickr
Image courtesy of Jugglerpm via Flickr

I suppose my point to all of this is to say, French fries are my friend. No matter what way they are prepared or what sauce accompanies them, I love them. If you sat me down next to a bucket of candy or a plate of delicious strings, I would choose fries every time. They are most likely responsible (assuming wine has no calories) for the extra few pounds, but dammit, they are worth every scrumptious calorie. It seems that the world has come to embrace these greasy little suckers and I’m thrilled.

What’s your favorite method to fries?  Traditionalist or Topping Maniac?

9 thoughts on “French Fries are My Friend

  1. Oh, Lindsay, you are too clever, a post about potatoes! I love it since potatoes, especially fried, are the food of the gods. I love the Greek way but have always wanted to try poutine. When I was in Europe, eons ago, I had fried potatoes with mayonnaise, again, sounds bad but is ever so good! They were eaten while walking served in a paper cone–this was in Amsterdam, if I remember correctly. Pomme Fritte mit mayonnaise, I believe they were, but the spelling is probably off.

  2. Mmmm. I’ve eaten fries with ranch, chili cheese and fry sauce–all delicious. My husband is obsessed with poutine. On our trip to Canada a few years back we spent a fair amount of time on a quest to find poutine. Unfortunately, we were in Victoria which is not big on poutine and had to get it from a mall food court.

  3. I experienced Poutine for the first time this summer in Toronto. I’m definitely a fan going forward. I started ordering fries a lot when in New Zealand. They usually get served with aioli which is what I got addicted too. Don’t see ketchup around much there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

